Baby Cardigan

A part of Operation: Use Up Stash

Baby Cardigan

Baby Cardigan

A few months ago, my co-worker gave me some natural fiber (wool?) yarn that she’d bought at some point but decided she wouldn’t ever use.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make – wool socks? a headband/ear warmer? There was enough yarn for more than a quick stash-burning project, but not enough for anything adult-sized.

Well, it just so happens my co-worker is also pregnant!  I waited (for what seemed like a very long time) until she found out if she would be having a boy or girl…turns out it’s a girl.  So, I went to work.  I decided I just wanted to try to make something without a pattern, so I checked out the Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns from the library and found a few stitch patterns that piqued my interest.

I also decided to make a cardigan, as baby’s heads are kind of ridiculously large compared to their necks.  So I thought a cardigan would be much easier to get on a baby rather than a sweater with a too-tight-neck.

I casted-on (casted?) in the round and started knitting.  First garter stitch, then some patterns from the book.  Then, I decided to stick to stripes since a pattern could get dicey when I joined in the sleeves and decreased for the shoulders.  Finally, I added a garter stitch button band and sewed on buttons that I (miraculously) found to match.

As a disclaimer, this is the very first baby thing I’ve ever knitted, and I didn’t have a baby to fit this on.  In hindsight, perhaps making up the pattern as I went wasn’t the best idea, but it kinda looks like the shape of a baby.  I guess we’ll find out in a few months…

View this project on Ravelry.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Baby Cardigan

  1. Pingback: Baby Cardi in Action « theresacouch

Leave a Reply

