I-cord Necklace

A part of Operation: Use Up Stash

I-cord Necklace

I-cord Necklace

Necklace

Necklace

The I-cord Necklace.  Just a simple little project to use up a small bit of stash yarn not suitable for any substantial purpose.  This necklace literally takes minutes, depending on how long you want your necklace.

I based this on a free pattern available on Ravelry posted by Teresa Dair.  I didn’t have the same material, so used a natural fiber (mohair?) yarn I had left over from a project long ago.

If you need to learn how to make an i-cord, or just need a refresher, Judy Graham has a good tutorial on YouTube.  Judy says you have to use dpn for this technique, but I’ve used a circular needle when I didn’t have dpns on hand.  In any case, the technique’s quite easy once you get the hang of it.

Bead Detail

Bead Detail

The other mod I made was to add beads.  Funny story about these beads…well, maybe not that funny.  I bought an entry way table through a local Craigslist-like website, and the previous owner left a pill bottle’s worth of tiny white beads in the drawer.  The beads were SO tiny, I wasn’t sure if I’d ever find a use for them, but they JUST fit on this mohair.  Serendipity, I guess.

If you want to add beads to the necklace, string the desired amount of beads onto yarn BEFORE you begin.  When you want to add a bead to a stitch, simply pull a bead up and continue knitting.

View this project on Ravelry.

Leave a Reply

