$5 in Paris

A part of Operation: Use up Stash

(I’m beginning to feel like I’m NEVER going to get to the bottom of my stash basket.)

Does it seem like a lot of the things I’ve knitted lately have been gray.  Turns out, there’s a good reason.  I have/had a ridiculous amount of gray yarn in my stash.  You may remember the Stripped Socks and the Seamless Raglan, both of which were attempts at using up the gray yarn.  Well, the gray yarn remains…

$5 in Paris is a very popular sweater on Ravelry specifically for using up Caron Simply Soft yarn.  So, off I went.  I started on Monday and finished on Friday!  The pink stripes are from the left over yarn from the Stripped Socks, too, but I didn’t have a lot left so used only think stripes of pink.

The original pattern didn’t have any waist shaping, but I added some decreases after the bust and increases for the hips.  I was a little worried this would be a bit small but it turned out perfect.  I cast on with #7 needles for the ribbing and then was going to use #9 for the body.  Of course I stop paying attention to my knitting while watching tv, so never ended up switches for the #9’s.  I didn’t realize this until I was nearly to the under arm, so decided to roll the hard six.  My bet paid out.

Can you believe I still have a little more than one skein of the gray yarn left?!?!  It never ends.

This may actually be my favorite piece I’ve knit for myself yet.

View this project on Ravelry.

2 thoughts on “$5 in Paris

  1. Pingback: Cable Check Bag…or a Pillow « theresacouch

Leave a Reply

