Date Night

A part of Operation: Use Up Stash

Hello, date night.  This is a free pattern on Ravelry from Nikol Lohr.  I decided on this project because the yardage would use almost exactly the amount of this red sport yarn I had from Bernat.  Plus, I thought it was super cute.

A word of warning: the yoke is not quite long enough, and since you’re knitting from the top-down, I recommend adding more to the yoke while you can.  I started knitting this before there were many other projects of Date Night on Ravelry, but since then, it looks like a lot of others have had the same yoke issues as me.  I probably should have gauged more closely in the first place, so it’s ultimately my fault.  The shell turned out within tolerable tightness ranges, but it would be slightly more comfortable if the yoke were just a wee bit longer – I’m talking just like three rows more.

Neck detail

The lace detail itself, though, is really gorgeous.  The yoke and body lace patterns don’t line up, but it turned out to offset evenly and in the middle on the XS size:

Lace detail

I made the shell longer than suggested in the pattern, and finished with EZ’s sewn bind-off, which, by the way, is my favorite bind-off now.

Hem detail

And just for fun, here’s another view of the front…

Front

and the back…

Back

2 thoughts on “Date Night

  1. This is gorgeous. I’ve been wondering if some stashed cotton-blend sport weight yarn would work for this pattern. Apparently it will 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, sounds like your yarn will work. I recommend making the yoke just a bit longer, but otherwise the pattern is great! Good luck, and let me know how it turns out if you decide to knit Date Night.

Leave a Reply

