Anniversary Dress

This wasn’t by design, but it just so happens that I finished this dress just in time for my anniversary tomorrow, hence “anniversary dress.”

IMG_0275I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, but I have a bone to pick with the pattern (V1224, by the way).  The difficulty level is listed as “very easy,” which I am here to say, it is not.  Sure, the pattern isn’t too bad, there’s no darts.  But, no piece of clothing made with jersey should  ever be called “easy.”  Jersey is just about the most infuriating fabric to work with.  That being said, I do really like the way it lays and it’s light and airy feeling.  (View of back to the right.)

The skirt is lined with (surprise, surprise) more jersey mesh lining, which made me want to give up when joining the skirt, lining, top, and elastic waist casing all at once.  I’ve never basted so many separate layers in my life…to be fair, though, this is only my fifth sewing project.

In any case, I’m excited to wear this dress tomorrow for our awesome anniversary dinner (reservations at a really posh downtown restaurant…yay!).

My biggest looming question:  With belt?  Or without belt?

IMG_0272

IMG_0274

4 thoughts on “Anniversary Dress

  1. Ooh I like this dress! The fabric looks great even if it was difficult to sew. I prefer without the belt personally

  2. Thanks for the votes! It was pretty split on Facebook, about 50/50. Hubby voted for the belt, and his vote trumps all. 🙂 We had an amazing dinner and a wonderful anniversary!

Leave a Reply

